I am essentially writing this for myself so I can remember the full story for years to come, because it was just such a funny weekend!

It started out relatively normal. Friday night I got us tickets to Tom Thum, an Australian beatbox artist who was performing with the Queensland Symphony Orchestra. Just a shout out to Tom Thum, wow what an amazing talent that man has!! If you ever get a chance to see him live then do it. Even if you don’t think you would be into that thing, it will change your life. It was fricken amazing.

Saturday morning my demons came to visit, just to check in once again. For the first time I took a form of relaxant just to drown them out in my head, and I won’t be doing this again. I spent the rest of the day feeling like I was on illicit drugs, swaying between nausea, wooziness, feeling completely spaced out, and just floating on a weird cloud. I apologise for anyone that saw me on Saturday, it wasn’t a good day for me. I didn’t want to write this, but the point of having this blog is to be raw, open and completely honest, so there we go. I’m not perfect, I’m just human, and we all have those horrific little voices in our head telling us that we’re not good enough and no one likes us. It’s how we deal with them that is the important thing, and I went about it completely the wrong way and could have done some serious damage to myself, especially while driving. Please don’t ever do what I did.

But the main point of writing this is what happened Saturday night. I should preface this story by saying I am a good person. For those of you who don’t know myself or Mitch all that well, I want to say we are upstanding members of the community. But I think we crossed a line. Well, mainly Mitch, but I guess I was an accessory in this. We crossed the line into crazy dog people.

I dropped Mitch off at a boys poker night and settled in for a night on the couch, I discovered the show ‘Younger’ on Stan, one of the same people as Sex and the City and it has Hilary Duff in it, actually a really great show! Anyway I got the call from Mitch to ask if I could come pick him up and as I was awake I said I would. Leaving home I saw just around the corner that a massive house party had been broken up, there were cops everywhere and about 300 kids spilling out on to the road, so I didn’t want to be away from home long as I knew they would be loitering around the street (loitering! What an old person word! Should have been waving my walking cane screeching “You kids get off my lawn!”).

When I arrived at the house Mitch had this little Blue Heeler dog he was playing with, and as I pulled up he was trying to put it in the car. All I could get out of him was it his mate’s girlfriend’s dog and something about the girlfriend being away and the mate didn’t want to look after it, but in his drunken state the details weren’t exactly clear. I fought him and tried locking him out for several minutes but he was adamant and I wanted to get back home so I gave up and let him put this random dog in the car. So we brought it home.

In the cold light of day, Mitch rolled over in bed and said to me “I need to stop stealing dogs”, as it isn’t the first time he has done something like this. He is an animal lover and would save all dogs if he could, I’ll give him that. But Bronx and Delilah were having the time of their life with this new dog in their yard, and the little one was settled in very well, but it was time to take her home. Mitch sent a message to his mate

“Hey man, so I’ve got your dog, my bad. Are you home?”

“Haha that’s not my dog bro, it’s just a stray that you adopted”

Oh shit. So whose dog did we have?! The mate had said we could drop the dog around later and he would sort it out for us, so that’s what we went with. And we had a great day! We all played in the yard, we went to the creek for a swim, we went for a drive, and then it came time to take little one back to where it came from. We were getting ready to go and I was flicking through Facebook when I saw the post for a missing Blue Heeler from the street and suburb Mitch was in last night. Oh shit. He had actually taken a dog.

For some reason it never actually occurred to me that I should try and find who’s dog this was. I should have really posted on Facebook, called the pound, tried to get her microchipped checked, but I think I was just happy with another dog around! So I had an awkward phone call to make, to say we had their dog 15 minutes down the road. And we hadn’t tried to contact them at all. We looked like psychopaths.

This all had a happy ending and Pepper went back to her home happily, but I guess the moral of the story is love your pets, look after them, if you find a stray then love it but make sure you make every attempt to get it home as soon as possible as the owners are probably worried sick. And most importantly, don’t let Mitch anywhere near your pets while drunk.

Lots of love,

Eloise

 

SONG RECOMMENDATION

Who Let The Dogs Out – Baha Men

No I’m kidding. That’s a terrible joke.

1955 – Hilltop Hoods ft Montaigne and Tom Thum

I love this song, everything about it relates to my home town Hamilton – ‘I don’t tell ‘em where I’m from, I tell ‘em where I’m close to’ – it’s so true!

And the line ‘No matter where I go, where I go, this will always be home’ always gets me a bit teary because that’s so true too

Plus Tom Thum. Another shout out to him.

