So it is the eve of your 21st (hah!) birthday, and as I wrote last time you finally started asking when you would get your shout out. So here it is.

To the man I love. Mitch. A guy who generally hates public displays of attention unless it’s annoying the crap out of me, so you’re going to hate this, but I’m gonna do it anyway.

A crazy ride the last 2+ years have been so far. But a crazy ride I wouldn’t change a single thing of.

Not everyone knows how we met and I won’t reveal the entire story, but I’ll tell it from my perspective. I started my last job in January 2014 and three months in a new tech started. And I still vividly remember that first morning, you looked a bit shy, but for some unknown reason you looked familiar to me, and I couldn’t for the life of me work out why. Fast forward a few weeks and I hadn’t spoken to you properly, you were rarely in the office, but something came over me, and I turned into a teenage girl whenever you were around. I blushed ferociously if I caught your eye, I giggled hysterically if you ever said hi to me, I even remember one day you were in the front part of the office and as I walked out to get a drink, you stretched your arms above your head and your work shirt rose up a bit, and I actually turned around and walked back the way I came, I couldn’t handle it. Then came the day we actually spoke more than 3 words, you were fixing something on my desk and you made a Simpson’s joke. I was done for.

I never knew if you even noticed me. I’m damn sure you didn’t feel the same way I did, I don’t know if you just wanted to nail the office chick since apparently someone needed to (as I found out later that was actually said!!). But finally you managed to track down my number and talk to me that way, since we couldn’t really have a proper conversation in the office anyway without everyone overhearing and commenting. And things suddenly took off and I was head over heels in love within a short time.

I love your sense of humour. We have so many little jokes that no one else would understand. You make me laugh at times I didn’t think I would be able to. You always have a smile on your face and make those around you feel so much joy and happiness, you just radiate it.

I love your green eyes and your cheeky smile, especially when it’s not hidden under all that beard! The night you shaved it off for the first time I actually cried, but then I fell in love all over again when I discovered what your smile really looked like and how big your gorgeous eyes are when they’re not in hiding.

I love that you push me to be the best possible version of myself. Your blunt ways sometimes drive me crazy but a lot of the time it’s just the kick up the arse I need. You want me to do great things and I know you will be right by my side the whole time. When I first came home and said I wanted to write a blog, your reaction was ‘awesome, can I design your website?’ and then sat me down to say how much of a great idea it was because you know I love reading and writing but just couldn’t find the right outlet. You wanted me to be frank and you knew you weren’t always going to be painted in the best light, but you wanted me to do this. You always want to help, you want me to get ahead in life and you will do anything you can for me. You’ve got a few years ahead on me and you always use that to my advantage if I start talking about the same decisions that you’ve made, and you know that you regretted.

We’ve had a tough year, stretched to our limits which did crack when we ended it 9 months ago, but I am forever grateful for that phone call I got saying that you wanted to try again. Because we did try again, and I have not looked back since. This time it was the kick up the arse we both needed because things changed, and our love grew a hell of a lot stronger from it. And now we’ve endured a lot, but we’ve endured it together, and shit I love you so much for it. You’ve held me as I’ve cried, you’ve made me laugh, and you have loved me when I haven’t been very lovable.

Many others look in on our relationship and can’t really understand it. To the outside world there is a lot of teasing and picking on each other, but that’s just how we work, it’s how we show our love. You’re definitely no Prince Charming, but you’re my Prince Charming and you’re perfect for me. But behind closed doors we’re very different. We talk. We dance. We bitch and vent and quote Step Brothers. You’re my best friend, one of the very few people I can always rely on in my life. I can honestly, truly say I’ve never felt like this before.

I’ve been asked before how I knew Mitch was right for me, and it’s hard to explain that feeling, but I just knew. Among many other qualities, I have a trust in him I’ve never felt. He can go away for a week partying with his mates and there is no doubt in my mind he will come home to me and never do anything wrong by me. I’ve never had that sort of trust before, and with that comes a sense of being completely and utterly myself without any worries of being judged. It’s just you and me against the world baby.

You’re a dickhead, but you’re my dickhead. If I had Illy, Suffa and you all in front of me, I would choose you every single time. Even if you’re now cranky at me because I just kicked you out of the room for trying to come in and read this early.

I love you dickhead. Happy birthday for tomorrow.

All of my love, forever and always,

Eloise aka Eggbert aka Egg

 

 

SONG RECOMMENDATION

Won’t Let You Down – Hilltop Hoods

One of my favourite ever nights together was when we saw Hilltop Hoods live. You had your arms around me as we sang this song together, and it was pretty special. I won’t let you down again, I promise.

